Category:

 Staff Picks

Platform Seven at 4am: Peterborough Railway Station is deserted. The man crossing the covered walkway on this freezing November morning is confident he's alone. As he sits on the metal bench at the far end of the platform it is clear his choice is strategic - he's as far away from t... read more

Platform Seven

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:1 Fiction

An unputdownable final novel from the Miles Franklin Award-winning author of The White Earth.
In the freezing Antarctic waters south of Tasmania, a mountain was discovered in 1642 by the seafaring explorer Gerrit Jansz. Not just any mountain but one that Jansz estimated ... read more

The Rich Man's House

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:2 Crime

You just dropped off your child at the bus stop. A panicked stranger calls your phone. Your child has been kidnapped.The stranger then explains that their child has also been kidnapped, by a completely different stranger. The only way to get your child back is to kidnap another child - w... read more

The Chain

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:2 Crime

An unputdownable thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty and Caroline Overington. If you were gripped watching The Cry, you'll be hooked on Six Minutes.
Impossible to put down and full of twists and turns you won't see coming! I loved this fabulous debut novel.' Liane Moriarty, bests... read more

Six Minutes

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:1 Fiction

I didn't write this book. I stole it...A Parisian bookbinder stumbles across a manuscript containing three stories, each as unlikely as the other.The first, 'The Education of a Monster', is a letter penned by the poet Charles Baudelaire to an illiterate girl. The second, 'City of Ghosts'... read more

Crossings

Category:

 Staff Picks

From the creator of Hannibal Lecter and The Silence of the Lambs comes a story of evil, greed and the consequences of dark obsession.
Twenty-five million dollars in cartel gold lies hidden beneath a mansion on the Miami Beach waterfront. Ruthless men have tracked it for years. Lead... read more

Cari Mora

Category:

 Staff Picks

'This book is sublime. It dares to be different, to look in a different way. Andrews is not filling anyone's shoes, she is destroying the shoes and building them from scratch.' Daisy Johnson
When Lucy wins a place at university, she thinks London will unlock her future. It is a cit... read more

Saltwater

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:1 Fiction

Odds of saving marriage - slim. Farming expertise - patchy. Chances that it'll all be okay in the end - actually pretty good ... I wasn't enjoying the afternoon of 23 February even before I learnt that my husband was having an affair ... The news of her husband's infide... read more

When It All Went to Custard

Category:

 Staff Picks

Reading Level:1 Fiction

Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. In a world not quite like this one, two lovers will be tested beyond their understanding.
Machines Like Me occurs in an alter... read more

Machines Like Me

Category:

 Staff Picks

Why are we all so hostile? So quick to take offence? Truly we are living in the age of outrage.
A series of apparently random murders draws amiable, old-school Detective Mick Matlock into a world of sex, politics, reality TV and a bewildering kaleidoscope of opposing identity... read more

Identity Crisis

Category:

 Staff Picks

Awards:Longlisted Booker Prize 2019

From the award-winning author of Grief is the Thing with Feathers comes a dark, playful, propulsive novel about an ethereal young boy who attracts the attention of a mythical, menacing force.   There's a village an hour from London. It's no different from many others today: one pub, one... read more

Lanny


From Australia's most trusted non-fiction researcher and author comes the book that every parent needs to read.
With their labile and rapidly developing brains, adolescents are particularly susceptible to addiction, and addicti... read more

Teen Brain: Why screens are making your teenager depressed